I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga

51Le7099+QLThe concept of this book was too interesting for me to pass up. The protagonist, 17 year old Jazz, is the son of the most infamous serial killer in modern America. His father was arrested four years ago and put away with multiple life sentences but the shadow of him still hangs over Jazz and the town. And then when a mutilated body turns up, Jazz realises there’s another serial killer on the loose.

Jazz is a satisfyingly interesting character. He is charming, charismatic and manipulative and unfortunately for him so was his dad. I like the way Lyga didn’t pull any punches with Jazz’s upbringing. He knows far too much about murder from the criminals’ point of view and is both arrogant about his knowledge and worried he’ll start killing people too. The two people keeping him connected to “normality” are and his girlfriend Connie and his best friend Howie, a haemophilic.

“You were right,” he told Howie.

“Um I was?”

“Yeah.”

“Score for me. Beauty. But what was I right about?”

“She’s a she. Not an it. She’s always been a she.”

“Yeah, no kidding.”

“Don’t ever let me call her an it again,” Jazz told him. “Actually, don’t ever let me call anyone an it, ok?”

Despite being an expert I like the fact that Jazz does not always reach the conclusion faster than the police force, who understandably aren’t too keen on having a teenager “helping” them with the investigation whoever his dad may be. I also liked the relationship between him and the detective who finally caught his dad.

I raced through this book in under two days. It was very readable and, however strange to say about a serial killer book, fun to read. As usual I ended up suspecting everyone to be the serial killer and it ended up being someone I never even thought of. This is the first in a planned trilogy.

Leave a Reply

